Of Teachers We Knew

An old friend of mine recently uploaded this video to YouTube. It’s my Grade 7 teacher at the age of 16, lip-syncing to Etta James’s “Stop the Wedding” on our local TV station’s Saturday afternoon hit music show.

She had a big impact on the lives of those of us she taught. My friend and I started a school paper at her urging. He went on to become the founder of a literary journal and magazine editor whereas I went on to other things. But she was the one who told us to find a passion and run with it.

She often went off the prescribed coursework and often told us of the real history of Canada and the US in that she made sure we were aware of slavery. She had a YA novelist come in to read from her book about the Underground Railroad. Every day began with 15 minutes of self-directed reading. She saw I was reading, at 12, George Orwell’s 1984. She encouraged me to keep reading it, even if I honestly didn’t get all of it.

I have increasingly vague memories of a lot of the teachers from those days but the memories of her have always remained sharp.

She passed away in 2011.

Leave a Reply

