OK I lied

Remember when I said I wasn’t going to even try to lose weight this year

Yeah, well, I had a bit of an epiphany when I was eating something last week and didn’t realize I was eating something. And that, along with a sedentary lifestyle, is a big part of why I weigh more than I should. I eat when I bored. I eat when I’m stressed. I eat while making other meals to eat. 

So a lot of it comes down to being mindful of what and when I eat. And exercising. I’m not particularly concerned about being large as I’ve always been stocky. In high school, I weighed about 180 lbs. To be the same at age 42 would be pretty great.

Last year, I used the myfitnesspal app and lost close to fifteen pounds in three months. Then I went to Florida for vacation and ate like a Floridian. So it did work while I was doing it. I just have to not stop after a couple of months because it’s a pain in the arse to update.

So if you’re on My Fitness Pal and want a, well, fitness pal you can look me up by username “shatnerian” and we can pester each other to keep at it.

2 thoughts on “OK I lied

  1. ” In high school, I weighed about 180 lbs. ”

    Get OUT, you did not! Where did you put it??? And I would’t call you stocky at all. Not super skinny tho.

    I’m also on myfitnesspal and I also mindlessly eat. Just writing stuff down is usually enough of an eyeopener for me but boy-howdy does it ever make me cranky.

    • By grade 12 I had reached 180. I’m not sure where I put it but I have short legs so I think it all sat around my torso. Or possibly in my head as I do recall I was rather full of myself in my youth.

      The skinniest I ever got was 140 while I was in Senegal eating rice and fish and no junk food.

      I figure getting to 180 would be a major victory. Hell, getting to 200 would be victory.

      I just don’t want to have to buy bigger pants or go from size Fatty-McBlobberson to Fatty-Fatty-McBlobberson.

      How’s that for an achievable resolution?

Leave a Reply

