20 Second Book Review: Saga, Volume One by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Saga, Vol. 1Saga, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I wanted to switch up my comics this month because I do tend to spend a lot of time in the super-hero world so I picked this up on a whim in my local comics shop because I had read good things about it. Brian K. Vaughan, who has written Ex Machina and Y: The Last Man has returned with an epic space opera that centres on the lives of two lovers from opposite sides of an ongoing war. One side’s combatants are winged people from the largest planet in the galaxy and the other are their horned, magic-using, humanoid inhabitants of that planet’s moon.

When these two enemies fall in love and have a baby together, it’s decided by the powers that be that they must die and so they flee an ever growing list of people who want to kill them. All this to a backdrop of Game of Thrones level sex and violence.

Highly recommended but definitely for mature readers.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

