Running

Now that the weather has improved, I’ve returned to running in the mornings. I’ve been asked by friends and family if I have caught "the running bug" and now look forward to my runs.

Let me be clear on this: Even on my best days, running is horrible. It hurts. It’s not fun. I’d rather be sleeping than running through the neighbourhood at 5:30AM.

But it works. I’ve lost weight, or more precisely, I’ve lost size as my fat has burned off but it’s been replaced by a quantum of muscle. It’s also fast and convenient. I can be alone when I do it and I get to listen to the birds singing and not LMFAO. I don’t have to get in the car and drive to an overpriced gym so I can run in one place. And afterward, I shower in my own bathroom and not among elderly men with little sense of personal space.

Now, I’m working on increasing my speed. Not so I can improve my stats but so this bullshit can be over with even sooner.

Here’s a route I’ve done recently. Feel free to point and laugh.

Leave a Reply

