On Not Sleeping

Until you start snapping at your co-workers, you think that a lack of sleep is a thing you simply deal with on your own. When your boss tells you people have been noticing a change in your behaviour, then you can hardly say you’ve been suffering in silence.

A few weeks ago, one of my downstairs neighbours complained that our son was getting up at 5:00am on the weekend and was making too much noise. She asked if I’d please ask him to be more quiet as she prefers to sleep in on weekends.

Really? Ask him to be more quiet? No, I hadn’t thought of that one. Thanks. Good parenting advice. And she must have been lucky that her own children were so quiet at that age. Such a change from today when they spend their time shouting at their parents and slamming downs while we’re, you know, trying to sleep. I told her I haven’t slept in two years and I know damn well how much noise he makes. But I’d see what I could do. We did manage to keep him from bringing his noisy firetruck into bed with us.

But I definitely have been feeling poorly for the past few months due to a lack of sleep which causes me to drink more coffee to keep up which is turn keeps me from sleeping. So, I’m trying to cut back on caffeine. This might be harder than kicking cigarettes. But when having a single cup causes a caffeine withdrawal headache, there’s a problem.

So I’ve added green tea to my diet, which does have caffeine but not as much as coffee and it’ll, I hope, keep me away from that second cup of coffee. In the longer term, I’d like to give up coffee entirely. But I often say this and never follow through.

In other news, this weekend was the big Valentine’s Day date. Rather than do the dinner/movie thing, we left the lad with the sitter and went out for shish-taouk and hung out at Chapters for two and half hours. I forgot what it was like to just walk around a book store without a toddler pulling on your hand all the time. It was surprisingly relaxing. This needs to be done more often.

3 thoughts on “On Not Sleeping

  1. I actually think fatigue is one of the most difficult parts of being a young parent. I also think it is why it seems so many couples break up when the kids are young.

    Be very careful with it and try to rest despite all the demands. My wife was on burnout leave for a year in part due to the lack of sleep. It seems just now that we’re getting regular sleep now that the kids are both over 5 years old. Despite the urge to keep them from watching cartoons all morning long, a chance to sleep in longer is welcome when they can turn on the TV themselves.

    Take care of yourselves.

    1. Thanks, I’ve been managing to sleep a little more lately, yeah, it makes a difference.

      I think I read an article by a parent that stated something to the effect of “Saturday morning cartoons saved my marriage” but now that I think of it, I don’t think she was using the time to sleep in.

    2. Thanks, I’ve been managing to sleep a little more lately, yeah, it makes a difference.

      I think I read an article by a parent that stated something to the effect of “Saturday morning cartoons saved my marriage” but now that I think of it, I don’t think she was using the time to sleep in.

Leave a Reply

