Mission Accomplished

Remember when I said that I had but one weight-loss goal in 2010, which was to simply move from a size 40 waist to a size 38 one?

Today, for the first time in probably five years, I’m wearing a size 38 trousers. Tan Dockers purchased at Sears, if you must know.

I understand that this is, of course, still an indicator of being quite overweight and my BMI, according to the Wii Fit is firmly in the “obese” category. But more than 5 kilograms have been shed since the beginning of the year and the weight is trending down. I’m 96kg at the moment, the Wii program I’m on has a goal of hitting 91 kg within six months. So I’m basically on track to hit that goal. Now, the trick is to keep up that for the summer, then possibly start trying for a 36″ waist. I’ll never be slim as I never was in the first place. A fifth-generation working class rural Maritimer of Danish and Scottish ancestry, my body was bred for pulling potatoes from the ground and fish from the sea. We are not tall, sleek people. We are stout.

Now, if pants makers can also make a 38″ waist with a 28″ inseam, that would save me a fortune in additional tailoring costs caused by my stubby legs.

3 thoughts on “Mission Accomplished

  1. Congrats. I had hoped to continue with the Wii, but fell off the wagon when I got too far behind on sleep to wake up early. I hope to get back to it, but I’ve gotta overcome this fatigue first.

    I was reminded recently that any delusions of looking like someone like Brad Pitt are unrealistic since even if I were thin, the basic dimensions of my body are non-standard.

    • I think the fact that I love like waking up early helps in that department. And my belief that I will look like George Clooney is no delusion, simply a fact that I prefer to believe over the truth.

      Still, it hasn’t all been sunshine and rainbows. My relationship with my trainer has become strained. Sometimes, she’ll just send that dude in when she doesn’t feel like working with me and when she does show up, all she can say to me at the end of a workout is “You’re very shaky…” even though I clearly stayed within the yellow area the whole time.

      I’m waiting for the next generation of WiiFit Plus when I can upgrade to a more supportive and understanding personal trainer.

  2. Sleep’s winning here too (but you knew that already). I really need to get back on the Wii…it IS rather fun!

    Sorry your trainer has gone off you. Maybe she and the other trainer have a ‘thing’ going on together.

    You don’t need to look like George Clooney. I prefer you the way you are.

Leave a Reply

