Ten Years Ago

On December 31, 1999, I ushered in the new millennium in a friend’s rented apartment in the South End of Saint John, getting loaded and watching the year 2000 arrive in style in various time zones. At 11:30, a special cheer was raised for Newfoundland and Labrador who were 30 minutes ahead of us. I was spending my late twenties by experiencing a lack of impulse control. It was a good, if somewhat irresponsible, time.

Ten years on, I’m making sure the PVR records the CBC Kids New Year’s Day Jamboree, not just because I think my 15 month old will enjoy it but because I think I will. And I’ll keep telling myself that it’s ok if he watches television, so long as it’s public television.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: this is better.

Leave a Reply

