Upgrade Your Supper

Last week, I read Upgrade Your Life: The Lifehacker Guide to Working Smarter, Faster Better by Gina Trapani. The book, a spinoff of the Lifehacker website to which Trapani contributes, offers several tips, or “hacks,” for common productivity and computer problems. Over the past week I’ve been incorporating several of these tips into my day to day work as the book is in its permanent home at my desk.

I also found a recipe which the author kept at her Flickr site for a chicken and fruit salad, available here. The recipe was in the context of using Flickr in non-obvious ways. I, of course, just saw food that I wanted to eat.

Today was one of those wonderful Spring days where the temperature pleasantly goes up beyond what was forecast. It was one of those days when you look forward to eating warm weather food like salads and fruit, rather than heavy, steaming comfort food. So tonight, I made it, with a few modifications.

As is my custom, I made far, far too much but my version of this recipe runs like this.

  • Boil a boneless, skinless chicken breast. Allow it to cool, shred it.
  • Mix chicken with a tablespoon of mayonnaise, seedless grapes (halved), diced celery, and a tablespoon of crushed walnuts.
  • On a bed of lettuce, arrange sliced and pitted strawberries, sliced banana, and mandarin slices.

When preparing this, I’d recommend using this photo as a guide, and then using about half of what you see here, as this meal would have easily served two people. Unless you’re a huge pig like me, then by all means, pile it on.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

