Closing the store

I believe the time has come that I stop writing in this blog. For the past five years, in one form or another, I’ve kept this thing as a running commentary on my day to day life, items in the news, and various opinions on pop culture. It was meant as an online gathering of friends, where we would just sit and keep each other up to date and share things we think are interesting. But mainly, it was meant to be fun.

It doesn’t feel fun these days and I don’t know why. I log into WordPress and just go through the motions. I’m not depressed or anything. I just think what I’ve done here has run its course. I’m glad I kept it up as long as I have and I’m glad I’ve met the great people that I have.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do but I’ll probably keep writing in some form or another. I just don’t know what it’s going to be yet. But I think, for this blog, the time has come to call it a day.


22 thoughts on “Closing the store

  1. Perhaps you just need a break. No need to announce it as such, just post when next you feel like it. Close pas la store, just take a vacation. It’s *not* dead, Jim.

  2. Definitely sorry to hear that, John. I’ve enjoyed your take on things along with your finds on YouTube. You could always just pull back or take a break.

    I’ve given up on a self imposed quota and have been doing it as the feeling hits me (or time allows). It’s quite liberating and more enjoyable and hopefully the content has been better.

    Though it seems there has definitely been quite a loss of interest in this medium among many. As long as the relationships that have been established remain, it could be a good thing in the end.

  3. I’m with Zura.

    Never say never and don’t barricade the storefront… just lock the door and pull down the blinds for a while.

    You have way too many good things to say!

  4. Not a regular commenter, but I read the blog quite often and have been for years. So I’ll miss it for sure, here’s hoping you come back. You never know. If not, thanks for the entertainment and good luck in the future.

  5. Oh, I’ll still be doing the Corrie Canuck thing.

    I’ve been mulling this over for months and came to the conclusion that it’s over for me. I’ll still be around, though, commenting on your sites so it’s not like I’m throwing the PC out the window. I just feel a need to detatch myself from this site. Hard to explain, really.

  6. Having only just found your blog I too am rather disapointed that you want to call it a day.
    Just leave things hang if you don’t want to write here, that way your options are open.
    Cheers
    😉

  7. yeah, i will again miss your particular brand of humour. reading your blog has made me feel like i’m back in uni! except for the part where we both have jobs not at hell for students and live in other cities and stuff.

    but good for you to pull the plug decisively instead of just letting it dwindle to nothingness as so many of my friends have done once the initial novelty fades.

  8. Pingback: The Toxic Avenger « Chicagoan in Montreal

  9. I’m with all them other fellas. No need to board up the windows. Just leave it idle and go for a spin whenever you feel like it. (Just remember not to mix your metaphors.)

  10. That happens. Blogs seem so ephemeral, and the good ones seem to wind up early, like “Calvin and Hobbes.” Still, go away, come back, whatever. Enjoyed reading you.

    Would you believe my Dad was once in an elevator (At the Banff Springs Hotel) with both William Shatner and Brooke Shields?

  11. Pingback: I know what I said « Formerly known as Shatnerian

Leave a Reply

