Can. Not. Wait.

UPDATE: Whaaah?

7 thoughts on “Can. Not. Wait.

  1. I don’t know what kind of an ending I would have liked to see but I don’t think it was seeing the family right back to where they were as the series began: Tony not in therapy, Carmela in denial, AJ and Meadow dicking around with what they want to do with their lives.

    On theory on the internets was that Tony was shot in the diner and that’s why the screen went black. That doesn’t make a lot of sense because I don’t think anyone from Phil’s family wanted him dead. Hell, they as much as told him they wouldn’t mind if he died.

    Tony dead or in jail is really the only way it’s going to end so I wonder if all they’re doing is leaving room for a feature film.

    Things I did like:
    -Phil Leotardo’s head being used a stop to keep the truck from rolling away with the baby twins inside.

    -Paulie’s ringtone is ‘Cecilia’ by Simon and Garfunkle.

  2. I’ve been thinking about this all night and I’m still a bit two thumbs down on it – but I will give kudos that the writers have given us a lot to talk about.

    I initially thought the blank screen was Tony’s life extinguishing, but now I’m not sure. If the camera angle was from Tony’s view the whole time at the restaurant, it would have been more definate.

    Also, who’s the say the stranger wasn’t a fed following Tony or just someone who recognized him.

    I guess it’s the ambiguity is what the writers wanted. I just got a feeling this will make for lovely fodder for fan for years. Which might be a bit painful.

  3. i read online (i haven’t watched this episode as i don’t get hbo) that the diner and the angles are a deliberate echo of the godfather scene wherein michael shoots the cop? so…. make of that what you will, including the dubious provenance of the info.

  4. A guy in a Members Only jacket gives Tony a look a couple of times, before going into the bathroom, and then is never seen again. That in itself reminded everyone of Michael Corleone who found his gun in the toilet tank. But Michael sat down to dinner with his victims, whereas this guy just sat down.

    It’s all very ambiguous.

  5. aha. see, not only do i not get the sopranos, but i have never seen any of the godfather movies. a startling gap in my movie street cred.

  6. Journey?

    You end the greatest television show in history with Journey? WTF?

    Sienfeld ending with some REO Speedwagon or Styx I could understand, but Journey?

Leave a Reply

