Church & State

I really should rant about the state of things more often but then Neal Pollack does it so well for me:

Every truly religious person can tell the story of his or her moment of conversion. Mine came when I heard that the Abu Ghraib prison in Iraq would now be called Camp Redemption. I can think of 100 more appropriate names, including the International House of Torture, Leashland, or Symbolic Pile of Rubble. But no, Camp Redemption it will be. I didn’t see God, exactly, upon learning of the holy camp. It’s more like I saw our president’s God clearly, for the first time. Yea, I did shiver at the sight of his flaming sword!

Leave a Reply

