Wrecked Beach

The University of British Columbia has plans to build new highrises to serve as student housing. There is a problem: the towers will overlook Wreck Beach, Vancouver’s oldest nude beach. The beach’s patrons are none too pleased with the idea that students will be able to gawk at their nude hippie bodies, as students would be wont to do. According to Judy Williams, a crusader for preserving Wreck Beach, the place is not just about nudity, but about spirituality as well:

“I’ve skinny-dipped ever since I was a kid. I’ve always loved being kissed by the sun, clad only by the sky. It’s just part of who I am.”

My only memories of Wreck Beach from my brief stint in Vancouver (or “The ‘Couve” as annoying people call it) are that it was a fantastic place to buy pot. Or so I was told.

Leave a Reply

