Turn around, bright eyes…

Every now and again, my mind thinks back to the time I rented Old School. I’m sure I’ll hate the guy in three years but right now, Will Ferrell is, to me, some kind of god. (And he’s got some new stuff coming out. 2004 will be a Will Ferrell kind of year.)

Anyway, one of the highlights of the aforementioned comedic milestone was the wedding band. As Will and his bride slow-danced at the reception, a group of dudes in bad tuxedos rocked their way through a profanity-ridden version of Bonnie Tyler’s Total Eclipse of the Heart (“Every now and then I get a little bit terrified then I see the fucking look in your eye…”)

I always wondered who that band was. As it turns out, they were The Dan Band and they are in fact, a real band whose claim to fame is that they sing songs exclusively by female artists. Case in point: their set list.

Some months, while attempting to learn some Joni Mitchell song on guitar, I realized that I a) can’t play and b) can’t sing. But I thought it would be funny if I ever became proficient at the singer-songwriter thing, I would only perform covers of songs originally written and performed by women. Sometimes I should listen to my little voice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

