the summer reading list (so far)

I live not a stone’s throw away from Fiction, a small independant bookstore in Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue. While the selection is small, it’s also quite good. Lots of CanLit. Lots of international stuff. A few used things. A few really good deals. And they sell socially conscious coffee. If you’re ever in Ste-Anne, stop in and buy something.

I picked up the new Margaret Atwood and browsing around the place, I realised today that I have an official, albeit small, reading list for summer that I may actually stick to for a change:

Oryx and Crake – Margaret Atwood
The Barrytown Trilogy – Roddy Doyle
Atonement – Iain McEwan
Glue – Irvine Welsh
Victory Meat – Anthology of Atlantic Canadian Literature edited by Lynn Coady
Alias Issues #1-19 – Marvel Max Comics (not to be confused with the TV show)
The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen Vols 1 and 2 (just so I can bitch about the movie version)
Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom – Cory Doctorow
and some Phillip K. Dick short stories…

K and I are looking at two days of travelling when we go to Scotland this summer. Once, coming back from Toronto to Saint John, my flight was fogged out and we were diverted to Fredericton where we had to wait for a bus. I didn’t care as I was so engrossed in “Fraud” by David Rakoff (a short, funny book, perfect for killing an afternoon) that I was glad it happened.

Leave a Reply

