Running Again

Two years back, I started a running programme called “Couch to 5k.” The intent was to find an exercise I could do by myself that was relatively cheap and close to home. I didn’t want to get in my car and drive to some place and pay $50 a month to exercise.

So for about a year, I’d get up at 5:00am and go for a run with a podcast telling me when to walk and when to run. It eventually led to doing a 5k Terry Fox run.

Then I stopped because it never stopped hurting, The problem was I never sought any professional advice. I tried to do it myself just by reading runners forums. My sneakers weren’t offering the best support, either. So I never really advanced to being able to do real, full 5 kilometer run. 

This year, I’ve decided to sign up for a proper learn to run course at my neighbourhood Running Run and get the right sneakers, which a marathon running co-worker has told me is half the battle. If you, ahem, carry some extra weight and overpronate, there are shoes to address that.

So I’m going to give a shot again.

In Spring.

Because right now it’s fucking cold.

 

2 thoughts on “Running Again”

Leave a Reply

