“I’m out of order? You’re out of order! This whole court is out of order!”

Remember that thing I mentioned a while back? Well, that’s what I’ve been doing for the past couple of days.

Jury duty selection involves a lot of waiting. The judge was looking for a fluently bilingual jury as the accused speaks English, many of the witnesses will be English, but other testimony would be in French. I tried to get an exemption based on the fact that I don’t speak French well enough for a trial, where there would be a lot of terminology bandied about. Well, so did about 90% of the room. So the judge had to listen to each person as to why they should have an exemption.

My exemption request was rejected because the judge thought my French was just fine for the trial.

That was yesterday. Today they got around to actually choosing the jury. I went in, was asked a few questions about what I knew about the case (I had heard about it in passing), and the judge deferred to the lawyers.

Well, I guess the lawyers for the defense decided they didn’t love me or something as I was rejected. Then I was happy.

So I went to work only to find out someone I like and respect a lot was laid off. Then I was sad.

Then I picked up the missus and got a tourtiere and gravy on the way home. Then we ate it. Now I’m happy again.

6 thoughts on ““I’m out of order? You’re out of order! This whole court is out of order!””

  1. I got called for jury duty back in Chitown. I was able to get out of it because I actually went to school with one of the cops that busted the guy. I doubt that would happen here though.

  2. Yeah same here, it’s a benefit/pitfall of being new in town that you don’t have 20-30 years of relationships to create, although I do work with one of the alternate jurors.

  3. Does that mean that you can now legally make up as much smut as you like about the trial, and publish random and abtract ‘facts’ about it?

    Tortiere is good.

    Especially with ketchup.

    Oh and I know how you feel. My first word verification was also rejected. I feel so empty.

Leave a Reply

